VALENTINE’S DAY: A PRODUCT OF COMPULSORY HETEROSEXUALITY

by rubyfruit2

A year ago, I wrote this article:

https://sisterhoodispowerful.wordpress.com/2013/02/02/romantic-love-a-patriarchal-ploy-2

A year on and it’s all still true so I am re-publishing. I hope that women in their millions will ditch male supremacist illusions of romance and join the fight for women’s liberation on 14 January 2014 instead.

“Our deeply conditioned belief in “romantic love” keeps us in abusive relationships. We look for deeper meanings, we say that “he loves me really” when he fails to live up to any kind of basic human standard, or “I can change him”. A belief in “romantic love” overrides experiences of beatings, rapes and psychological torture. We will find it, no matter what. We must. All the messages we have received from birth tells us it is there – what is wrong with us that we can’t find it? We are taught we are incomplete human beings without the love of a man. We must suffer in the hope that one day we might be given it. For real.”

I will be joining other women tomorrow to do this: http://www.vday.org/home

Women’s silence cannot be bought with roses

 

 

